“The bill, which passed 26-14, would change the law so a reckless driving charge automatically applies to all drivers clocked going faster than 85 mph on any Virginia road, instead of the existing 80 mph limit.” via WTOP in February 2016. However, the bill never made it past the General Assembly and Virginia has implemented warning signage throughout the 95 Corridor warning drivers that driving in excess of a mere 80 miles-per-hour can land them in jail – for a year.
The signs are being erected in areas on the stretches of 95 that have been more prone to accidents. “At the locations where the signs have been installed in Spotsylvania County, 17 percent of northbound drivers and 8 percent of southbound drivers typically go over 80 mph, said VDOT senior communications specialist Jenny O’Quinn.”
Being pulled over while driving over 80 mph in Virginia is an offense that registers as an automatic reckless charge.
Via DrivingLaws.com, the maximum penalty for reckless driving in VA is:
- Twelve months in jail
- Six months suspension of your Virginia driver’s license
- Six months suspension of your privilege to operate a motor vehicle in Virginia if you are licensed elsewhere
- A fine of up to $2,500
- 6 demerit points on your driving record
If your license is suspended for any period of time, Virginia DMV will report the suspension to the state that issued your driver’s license. Most states now honor these suspensions and will suspend your license in the state where you license was issued.
And if the endless amount of lawyer fees aren’t going to bankrupt you, the average cost increase to insurance premiums in highest when sited with a reckless driving ticket. According to a Forbes.com article, you can look at an increase of 22% in your insurance premiums. In comparison, here’s how other infractions affect your insurance:
- Reckless driving: 22 percent
- DUI first offense: 19 percent
- Driving without a license or permit: 18 percent
- Careless driving: 16 percent
- Speeding 30 mph over the limit: 15 percent
- Failure to stop: 15 percent
- Improper turn: 14 percent
- Improper passing: 14 percent
- Following too close/tailgating: 13 percent
- Speeding 15 to 29 mph over limit: 12 percent
- Speeding 1 to 14 mph over limit: 11 percent
- Failure to yield: 9 percent
- No car insurance: 6 percent
- Seat belt infractions: 3 percent
Yep – a reckless ticket increase insurance higher than a first-time DUI offense on average.